What's New?

Posted on September 30, 2020

NHK Symphony Orchestra November Concerts

NHK Symphony Orchestra November Concerts to replace its subscription concerts will be held with the following details.


The conductor for the concerts at NHK Hall is Masaru Kumakura, an energetic 28-year old maestro, who served as Paavo Järvi’s assistant for three years and has won the trust and expectation of the NHK Symphony Orchestra. In July he conducted the orchestra’s first concert since the restrictions on events due to COVID-19 infection were eased. He will take up a German repertoire, for which the orchestra has been specially noted for. The soloist is pianist Mao Fujita, who made headlines by winning the second prize at the 2019 International Tchaikovsky Competition.


The conductor for the concerts at Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre and Suntory Hall is Keitaro Harada, an up-and-coming young conductor who has developed his career in the United States, and has also been active in Japan. He picked “America” where he started his career as the theme of the two programs. The soloist for the Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre is violinist Mayuko Kamio, the gold medalist of the 2007 International Tchaikovsky Competition.


Dates and Programs

[NHK Hall]
Saturday 14 November 6:00pm & Sunday 15 November 3:00pm

Masaru Kumakura, conductor
Mao Fujita, piano
Mendelssohn / "Die Fingals-Höhle," overture Op. 26
Schumann / Piano Concerto A Minor Op. 54
Bach / Reger / "O Mensch, bewein’ dein’ Sünde gross," BWV622, chorale prelude
Mendelssohn / Symphony No. 4 A Major Op. 90 "Italienische"


[Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre]
Friday 20 November 7:00pm & Saturday 21 November 2:00pm

Keitaro Harada, conductor
Mayuko Kamio, violin
Corigliano / Voyage
Barber / Violin Concerto Op. 14
Dvořák / Symphony No. 9 E Minor Op. 95 "From the New World"


[Suntory Hall]
Wednesday 25 November 7:00pm & Thursday 25 November 7:00pm

Keitaro Harada, conductor
Bernstein / "On the Town"–Three Dance Episodes
George Walker / Lyric for Strings
Piazzolla / Tangazo (Variations on Buenos Aires)
Copland / "Appalachian Spring," ballet suite
Márquez / Danzón No. 2


Ticket Prices

(Prices apply for all concerts / Reserved seating only)
Adults: S 7,000 yen A 5,500 yen B 3,500 yen
Youth tickets (under 25 years old) S 4,200 yen A 3,000 yen B 1,500 yen

‹WEB select 3 tickets› available for November concerts only [S seats only/ sold at WEB Ticket N-Kyo]

Of all the 6 November concerts, if you purchase more than three concert at once, you can save 20% of Adults S ticket price. Sold at WEB Ticket N-Kyo. (Available until Friday 13 November 2020 23:59)


Tickets sale starts on:

Pre-sale: Tuesday 6 October 11:00am
Sales to general public: Thursday 8 October 11:00am


* For further information and where to make inquiries, please visit the website of each concert.


● Concert durations will be about two hours with a 20-minute intermission.

● As measures for prevention of infectious diseases, only a limited number of seats will be sold and sufficient spacing will be taken between seats

● Depending on circumstances, performers and programs are subject to change or concerts may have to be cancelled.

● Please make sure to read "Advice for measures to prevent infectious diseases" before you purchase tickets or come to the concert hall.