NHK Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo


Otaka Prize

The 66th Otaka Prize winning composition

"Paysages Entrelaces" pour orchestre (2016)
(Running time 16 minutes.)
Composer's name
Naoki Sakata
Year composed
Date of world premiere
May 28, 2017 Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall
Kah Chun Wong, conductor
Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra

Naoki Sakata
Naoki Sakata


About the Otaka Prize

The Otaka Prize is an award established to acknowledge an outstanding orchestral composition by a Japanese composer, in honor of a composer and conductor Hisatada Otaka (1911-1951), who dedicated his life to the betterment of the Japan Symphony Orchestra, the predecessor of the NHK Symphony Orchestra.

Otaka was posthumously awarded the Prime Minister’s Award in honor of his great contribution to music in this country. His wife, graciously entrusted the prize money to the NHK Symphony Orchestra, which the orchestra used to establish the Otaka Prize in 1952.

Works which are eligible for the Otaka Prize are innovative orchestral works (with a solo or vocal part) composed by Japanese composers that move the performers as well as audiences and were made public or gave their premiere broadcast performance in the past one year.

The work should be capable of being performed by a standard orchestration by the NHK Symphony Orchestra as part of its regular repertoire.

The screening and selection of the work is conducted by the following committee members.

NHK Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo

    Permanent Conductors

    General Director

    Artistic Administrator

Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK)

    Program Production Department Head of Music & Theater Programs Division

    Program Production Department Music & Theater Programs Division Producer

    External experts commissioned by the NHK Symphony Orchestra

The screening committee is led by the General Director of the NHK Symphony Orchestra.

When necessary, the committee may seek comments from outside music experts.

The Prize-winning work is announced on February 26 the following year to mark the anniversary of the composer’s death, and is given its premiere performance by the NHK Symphony Orchestra as part of its Music Tomorrow concert for that year.